• Any Questions? Call Us:1-877-438-9111
Get social with us!

Home Network

How to Work when you are away from your network

How to work with a Briefcase

Windows XP has come up with an easy option for people who work from home, away from their office networks. A briefcase is a folder of sorts which helps you take your files home on a removable disk, work on the files and then synchronize the updated files with the originals on the hard drive of your office system. Here's how you could create and use a briefcase.

  • Click on Start and then click on My Computer.
  • Click the folder in which you want to create a new briefcase.
  • On the File menu, click New, and then click Briefcase. The new briefcase is created. To open the briefcase, double-click it.
  • If you want to create a new briefcase on your desktop, right-click an empty area of your desktop, click New, and then click Briefcase.

  • To move objects from My Documents , double click on the My Documents icon.
  • Open Briefcase and My Documents side by side by right-clicking on the blank Task bar and select Tile Windows Vertically.
  • Copy any files and folders to your Briefcase by simply dragging them onto the New briefcase window.
  • You could work with your briefcase just the same way as you would with any of your folders. To check the status of any file in your briefcase right-click the file that you want to check, and then click Properties. Now click on the Update Status tab.

  • If the Briefcase file and its counterpart outside Briefcase (the original copy of the file on another computer) are synchronized, an Up-to-date icon is displayed.
  • If the Briefcase file and its counterpart are not synchronized, a Replace arrow is displayed. The arrow points towards the copy of the file that requires updating. 
    Click Update to synchronize the files.
  • The file stored in the Briefcase and its counterpart outside are now synchronized.

    To take your Briefcase with You
    You can carry your files with you back and forth between computers using a CD or USB drive.

  • Copy your briefcase files onto your CD or USB drive.
  • You can now work on your files when you are away from your network from the CD or USB drive and burn the new files back onto the CD or save them onto your USB drive.
  • Once you are back into your network, insert your CD into your computer or connect the USB drive to your USB port.
  • Start your briefcase and update your files. To update all your files click on Update All on the briefcase menu. To update a particular file, select the file and click on Update. Now the files on the hard disk will be replaced with those from the CD or USB drive.

 The content in this segment is provided for use as an information guide only. No legal liability or other responsibility is accepted by or on behalf of SupportMinds for any errors, omissions, or statements on these pages, or any site to which these pages may link. SupportMinds shall in no circumstances be liable for any loss of any kind whatsoever in consequence to the use of contents of this site.

Working on Files and Folders Offline

Windows allows you to access your shared files and folders even when you are away from your network. Windows copies the files to a temporary location on your PC's hard disk.When you are hooked onto your network, you can work on your original documents and when you are away you work on the temporary copies. So the next time you get back onto your network again, the temporary files get copied back to the original location and replace the older versions. To make files and folders available offline:

  • Click on Start and go to My Computer or My Network Places, click the shared network file or folder that you want to make available offline.
  •  In the File menu, click on Make Available Offline.
  • Note: The Make Available Offline option will appear on the File menu only if your computer is set up to use Offline Files.

    To set up your computer to use Offline Files:

  • Click on Start and go to My Computer. In the Tools menu, click on Folder Options.
  • On the Offline Files tab, make sure that the Enable Offline Files check box is selected.
  • Select Synchronize all offline files before logging off to get a full synchronization. Leave it unselected for a quick synchronization.

     

    To configure offline files to Synchronize when the network connection becomes active:

  • Click on Start and go to All Programs. Go to Accessories and click onSynchronize.
  • In the Items to Synchronize window, click on setup.
  • From the list you see in the Logon/Logoff  window, select the items you want to synchronize and when you want the synchronization to take place i.e. during logon, logoff or both.
  • Click on OK.
  • Windows will now automatically synchronize your offline content according to the new settings.

      The content in this segment is provided for use as an information guide only. No legal liability or other responsibility is accepted by or on behalf of SupportMinds for any errors, omissions, or statements on these pages, or any site to which these pages may link. SupportMinds shall in no circumstances be liable for any loss of any kind whatsoever in consequence to the use of contents of this site.

Changing Offline Settings

You can use offline files to be able to work on information stored on your network even when you are away from it. You’ll find it really easy to use with the synchronization option that is available to keep your files updated.
 You can change your offline settings to suit your requirements. You can even decide on the amount of disk space you want your offline files to utilize.

  • Click on Start and go to Control Panel. Double-click on the Folder Options.
  • In the folder options click on the Offline Files tab.
  • By default Synchronize all offline files when logging on/off is enabled.
  • When Display a Reminder Every option is enabled a small icon appears in the notification area next to your clock to indicate that offline files are being used. You can enable the create shortcut option to display a shortcut icon on your desktop.
  • You can choose the amount of Disk space to use by simply dragging the slider to adjust the percentage.

  The content in this segment is provided for use as an information guide only. No legal liability or other responsibility is accepted by or on behalf of SupportMinds for any errors, omissions, or statements on these pages, or any site to which these pages may link. SupportMinds shall in no circumstances be liable for any loss of any kind whatsoever in consequence to the use of contents of this site.